White Lies – To Lose My Life

white-lies

The entire album from its’ track titles to its’ music and lyrics has a dark quality to it. It’s by no means a happy or uplifting album especially with lyrics like, “I picture my own grave cause fears got a hold on me.” “E.S.T.” sounds like it would’ve been a perfect addition to the Donnie Darko OST, which given their musical style comes as no surprise. However, this is a good thing in my opinion since I happened to like the music in that movie.

One thing I really enjoyed in this album is the use of string arrangements. I’m personally a sucker for songs that include string instruments and you find a lot of it scattered throughout the album. “The Price of Love” is a good example of this. There is a good variety of atmospheric and orchestrated type songs like “Nothing to Give” and more post-punk/electric-guitar heavy tracks like “To Lose My Life.”

All in all I think the White Lies have done a great job of establishing themselves as talented musicians. Rather than turn me away, I’m interested to see what they’ll release next and how their music might change or evolve. Their debut definitely makes them a band to watch (or, you know, listen).

White Lies – To Lose My Life (descarga)

2 responses to “White Lies – To Lose My Life

  1. Justo hoy leí una reseña sobre este disco, donde criticaban la semejanza de su trabajo a lo que hacen los killers, y que deriva a un montón de gente pareciéndose a otra. Ya me dieron ganas de escucharlo. A ver qué onda : )

  2. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

